What 5 former presidents had been born in New York State

RHINEBECK, NY (NEWS10) – On Wednesday, President Joseph Biden became the 46th person to be sworn in as President of the United States. Biden succeeds Donald J. Trump. Trump was the fifth New York-born president.

The first New Yorker to receive this honor also benefited from being the first American-born president. All previous presidents were born before the end of the War of Independence, which means they were born in the British colonies.

1. Martin Van Buren

Martin Van Buren was born in Kinderhook, NY, in 1782 and is the only U.S. President who speaks English as his second language was through his first.

10 inauguration quotes from the last 10 presidents

A young and aspiring attorney, Van Buren entered Albania politics and was elected to the United States Senate in 1821, where he served until 1828.

Van Buren became the first future president to become governor of New York State. On January 1, 1829, he was sworn in as the 9th governor of New York. Van Buren served as governor for two months and twelve days before accepting the position of US Secretary of State through President Andrew Jackson.

In 1837 Van Buren won the presidency and became the nation’s eighth president. In later years Van Buren became more anti-slavery and became an outspoken abolitionist. He supported Abraham Lincoln’s policies during the Civil War. Van Buren died in Kinderhook in July 1862 at the age of 79.

2. Millard Fillmore

Millard Fillmore, the 13th President, was born into poverty in the Finger Lakes Area of ​​New York State. He was a member of the Whig Party and was first elected to the New York State Assembly in 1828 and to the House of Representatives in 1832.

Fillmore was the first elected Comptroller for New York, an office he held for over a year. In March 1849, Fillmore became Vice President under Zachary Taylor. When Taylor died suddenly in July 1850, Millard Fillmore became the 13th President of the United States. He died in 1874 at the age of 74.

3. Theodore Roosevelt

The third New York-born president was Theodore Roosevelt, the 33rd governor of New York, who became the youngest president in US history in 1901 at the age of 42. In September 1901, he was Vice President Months for six and a half years, and Roosevelt was sworn in as the 26th President after William McKinley was assassinated. He held the office until 1909 when William Howard Taft took office after his election in 1908.

From Mt. Marcy to North Creek, Teddy Roosevelt’s journey to the presidency began in the Adirondacks

Roosevelt was born with debilitating asthma, but overcame his early health problems with a strenuous lifestyle. “Teddy” Roosevelt was known as a statesman, nature lover, and learned historian with a wide range of interests. President Teddy Roosevelt died on January 6, 1919 at the age of 60 in Oyster Bay, New York.

4. Franklin Delano Roosevelt (FDR)

The fourth New York-born President is Franklin Delano Roosevelt. He was born on January 30, 1882, in his family home in Hyde Park, NY. The FDR was elected to the New York State Senate in 1910 and then served as Assistant Secretary of the Navy under President Woodrow Wilson during World War I.

Composition by Albany High School alum plays at the inauguration of Biden

In 1921, at the age of 39, Roosevelt fell ill with a paralyzed disease, which at the time was considered polio. After losing the use of its legs, the FDR returned to politics and was elected 44th Governor of New York in 1929, an office he held for four years.

In 1932, the FDR ran against President Herbert Hoover and became the longest-elected President in United States history with four terms. FDR died on April 12, 1945 in Warm Springs, Georgia, during his fourth term. His unprecedented gain in third and fourth terms helped pass the 22nd Amendment, which limits a president to two terms.

5. Donald J. Trump

The last New York-born President was Donald J. Trump, born June 14, 1946 in Queens. Trump and Teddy Roosevelt are the only two NYC-born American presidents. President Trump trained at the New York Military Academy and later at the Wharton School of Finance and Commerce at the University of Pennsylvania.

As a young man, Trump took over his father’s company and renamed it the Trump Organization. Under Donald Trump, the organization was involved in hotels, resorts, casinos as well as residential and commercial buildings.

In 1987, President Trump published his first of many books called The Art of the Deal. Later in 2004, Trump started the apprentice on television.

President Trump was elected the 45th President of the United States in 2016, defeating Hillary Clinton. He lost to 46th President Joseph Biden in 2020.

Of all 46 presidents, only four can claim governorship of New York, Martin Van Buren, Grover Cleveland, Theodore Roosevelt, and Franklin Roosevelt.

Comments are closed.